Bite Sized Peanut Butter Yummies

More sweet tooth moments abound!  This time in a healthy way.  With all the new year resolutions to eat better, lose weight and more, why not look for a healthy-ish cookie?  My mother has this low-cal dessert book she picked up somewhere, so when I was craving something and didn’t want to go for something super-bad for me, I dug around in there.  Then I remembered the peanut butter cookie recipe that tasted like fudge.  I should really try to turn it into a cookie/brownie combo or a truffle…mmmm…

Little bite sized goodies

Little bite sized goodies

The trick is making a smaller batch and making smaller cookies.  Yes, having cookies the sizes of our hands are fun but really bad for you.  Portion control is where it is at when it comes to maintaining a healthy lifestyle, at least in my book.  These, I made bite-sized (which doesn’t work when your father and brother clearly don’t care about sharing and eat five in one sitting).

Perfect little cookies for snack time!

Perfect little cookies for snack time!

I almost want to try them with ice cream but I’m a strictly chocolate and ice cream type of person.  Don’t ask why, I have no answer for it. Personally, these would be good for parties because they are small, tasty and just enough to deal with that need for something sweet.

Cover of the low cal cook book.  I didn't see any authors to post a link

Cover of the low cal cook book. I didn’t see any authors to post a link

Since I don’t want to mess with copyright, I will say that there’s no brown sugar, minimal butter and only a light half cup peanut butter.  Personally, I like it like that.  I think if you half your own recipe  or make an even ratio of peanut butter to sugar you should be good.  Or just make them tiny, cute and bite sized!

Leave a Reply

