Easy Irish Soda Bread

When my mother requests I make something, I really can’t turn that down.  A year ago, it would NEVER have happened and I’m not joking.  I’m not joking when I say that cooking wasn’t a strong suit.  I burnt easy mac… in the microwave.  I am the poster child for those who couldn’t cook and now can.  If I can, you can.  Why do I say all this: because this is an easy one but it was REQUESTED.  I had to oblige.

What was it?  Irish Soda Bread.  It’s a quick baking bread that’s great at little mini-loaves for biscuits for a pasta dish or any dish really.  I like my biscuits with something behind them.  The recipe was one I stumbled upon on various searches online so I can’t even say where I got it, but I will say, I had to adjust it a bit.

Cute little Irish Soda Bread biscuits.

Cute little Irish Soda Bread biscuits.

It calls for only one cup of flour to a one cup mix of milk and an egg.  Liquid to flour ratio is a bit off since you kinda need it to be a dough and not a good smelling goop.  I added about 1/2-3/4 cup more of flour, which is mixed with about 1/2 teaspoon soda (sometimes I make it a healthy scoop) and as much salt.  Mix it up and knead lightly and make into little biscuit shapes.  Score the top with an X and away you go.  See, easy, few ingredients and perfect for dinner.

They bake at about 350 degrees for around 8-10 minutes or until golden.  Then butter and enjoy or just enjoy.

Leave a Reply

