The Pasta Experiment

Tonight’s meal was inspired by Pinterest and a post I saw there about lasagna rolls.  Basically, it’s a lasagna that’s rolled up with all the goodies nicely inside and the sauce dripped over the top.  I like to think of it as a less messy version, which instantly appealed to me.  I always seem to have trouble eating lasagna, getting it all over and ending up with this pasta goop all over my plate.  Maybe it’s just me.  I wouldn’t be surprised.  Moving on…

Simple but filling lasagna rolls

Simple but filling lasagna rolls

Basically, I boiled the pasta down to an aldente but soft enough to roll easily.  Once that is done, I took my lovely spatula and spread the cheese mix along the pasta.  It’s a mix of low-fat ricotta, parmesean, parsley, sprinkle of basil, pinch of salt and folded it all together.  Personally, I’d like a bit more seasoning but my family isn’t much for it, so I let it be.  Then I just rolled up all up and laid them nicely in a bake dish.  Over the top, I dripped a combo of ground chuck and marinara sauce.  Set it all to bake like you would a lasagne.

Right before it’s done, sprinkle a good helping of mozzarella.  I adore cheese, so there was quite a good helping of cheese on the top.  Then pop that baby back in for another 10 minutes and voila!  Single serve lasagna rolls!

At least they were a lot less 'messy' than the traditional lasagna.

At least they were a lot less ‘messy’ than the traditional lasagna.

Looking back and tasting it, I would like a bit more seasoning in my cheese mix.  It wasn’t bad, but like I said, I’m a fan of seasoning.  Another thing I would do would be to cut out the marinara sauce and use good, old fashioned pasta sauce.  It worked, especially with the meat, but for myself, I might have done away with the meat in favor of a good sauce.  Since I didn’t put the sauce inside the rolls, it definitely needs that to keep it from being a bit dry.  I think I might also mix a little cheddar on top too.  I like my cheese.

Not a bad meal, especially for a first time experiment.  There’s some tweaking to be had, but it’s a start and I like it.

Leave a Reply

