Never Going Back Vanilla Pudding Cookies

My family has gotten quite used to having a dessert around since I started this project.  I’m happy to give it to them since I have a rather big sweet tooth myself, however, desserts use up resources like none other.  Cups of flour, sugar and butter go into even some of the simpler recipes.  It’s not easy when you are basically unemployed and on a strict budget.

Delicious, little Vanilla Pudding Cookies

Delicious, little Vanilla Pudding Cookies

This all leads me to the glory that is vanilla pudding cookies.  You see, going through the cupboards, I found a package of instant vanilla pudding that really ought to be used before it went bad and so the Pinterest search began.  I find that searching Pinterest for recipes works for me better than google or any other search engine.  I’m a very visual person and often make decisions based on that, so to have the image right there is handy.  Plus, it leads you to all sorts of blogs.  Hours of wasted and ideas are born.

Anywho…  I found a great cookie recipe that used vanilla pudding (here) and comparatively low amounts of the usual resources.  This is because of what the package of instant pudding mix contains.  It has most of the ingredients built in, which is handy for the budget minded person.  If I had only known about these when I was in college, I would have cried.  I was always buying pudding mixes for desserts because they were cheap, who knew I could have made cookies?  What you learn as you grow older.

Such fluffy, yummy things

Such fluffy, yummy things

They made up fairly easy, though my butter was a touch too cold but I was impatient.  User fail rather than the recipe.  The end result was a very fluffy, very delicious vanilla flavored sugar cookie.  I told the family that we would not make any other sugar cookie recipe ever again after tasting these.  Second day tasting and they were still rather soft (which is extremely important to me and my sugar cookies).

Judging all this, I want to try pudding cookies in a variety of flavors that instant offers.  Even the sugar-free and fat-free style to see if there’s a significant difference.  So look out for those remarks further down the line.  I’m thinking these would be great during the summer with some ice cream sandwiched between them.  I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

