Cupcakes for Two

Sometimes you don’t want to make a butt-load of cupcakes that will eventually go stale because you just can’t eat them fast enough.  Sometimes you just want a small, sweet dessert and that was my goal when I went searching the net for a small batch recipe.  It can be a challenge to take a full batch version and cut it down.  There’s plenty of math to do and it doesn’t always work out well, as I know.  Then again, taking a recipe that makes two and doubling it up to make four doesn’t always go as planned either, which was what I did… because there are four of us in the house.

Before frosting.  Yes, I did drop a few extra chips on top of the batter.

Before frosting. Yes, I did drop a few extra chips on top of the batter.

I found this lovely recipe that even includes a frosting recipe to match the small batch.  It’s a very simple version of a chocolate cupcake and it does, in fact, bake up incredibly well, almost like a brownie cupcake.  I, of course, took the chocolate chip suggestion and turned it around.  I mixed white chocolate chips into the batter to sweeten it up, though the cupcakes certainly didn’t need it to make them taste better.

A thick, delicious chocolate frosting!

A thick, delicious chocolate frosting!

The frosting is also pretty good.  It makes up rather thick (which can be adjusted fairly easily if I wanted to) but it’s too tasty to adjust.  To me, it honestly tastes like brownie mix it’s so rich and decadent and utterly perfect for these little cupcakes.  I wouldn’t make a full batch of the frosting for a cake, per se, but for something small I think it works really well.

Now, when I need something for a night in, I’ve got the recipe on hand.  You can check it out here and make some up yourself!  I highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

