Chicken Pot Pie and Apple Pie Bites for One

For whatever reason, I was craving pot pie yesterday, maybe that has something to do with The Chew and having a show devoted to pies. Curse them and their making me crave certain things.  Luckily, my mother was cooking up a chicken for dinner, so I was able to be a little scavenger and snag a bit of it for my own, personal pot pie (they, apparently, did not have the same cravings that I did).

Isn't that little dish adorable.  Only cost me a buck at Target.

Isn’t that little dish adorable. Only cost me a buck at Target.

I made a very, very basic pie dough of flour, butter, salt and water.  For savory pies, I like my crust very basic so that everything else does the talking.  Now, I didn’t make a full batch, only a half batch since I just wanted the top of my pie.  This meant I had left overs to make my little dessert which I’ll talk about after this.

All warm and inviting.

All warm and inviting.

Inside, I used that cup o’ soup creamy chicken for the gravy, making it over the stove and adding to it, onions, half a potato and some carrots.  In that, I tossed some parsley and rosemary to punch up the spices in the quick soup mix.  It made up pretty thick and creamy for the pie, though I would add some salt and pepper to it next time.  With that, I layered in my chicken breast and a hard boiled egg, much like my grown-up pot pie recipes.  It turned out nicely, though very dense so even my little single serve was a bit much for me.

Cute little slices.  Perfect for dipping, I would think

Cute little slices. Perfect for dipping, I would think

Now onward to dessert.  Like I said, I had some extra dough that I couldn’t bring myself to just toss, and I had one, lonely apple left.  I simple took a cup, cut out little circles and mixed up some apple pie filling with the sliced apple.  They were very small but very nice with just a touch of ice cream, especially when they’re hot.  I don’t always like a super large dessert, so this was perfect.

A little ice cream and we're set.

A little ice cream and we’re set.

All in all, it was a heart meal and didn’t use up too many resources, which I like.  You don’t need to make a big batch of something to make something comforting.

Leave a Reply

