Blueberry Buttermilk Upside Down Cake

I was presented with a thing of blueberries by my parents after grocery day, quite out of the blue.  Mention that they are on sale and poof, there they are before I could remember to go down and get them myself!  Convenient, I do say so.  This also means that I have to find something to make with them.  The usual would be pancakes or muffins but you see, that’s kinda boring and while I want to make new recipes weekly, I also, not so secretly, strive to expand my family’s food horizons.  Old standbys are great and delicious but how do you find new standbys if you don’t try?  And this one, let me tell you, is a new standby for blueberries.

Fresh out of the over and smelling oh so good.  Like summer.

Fresh out of the over and smelling oh so good. Like summer.

I searched the internet for a blueberry recipe when I came across this one.  Initially, I saved it but discounted it as one I could make right now since I don’t readily have buttermilk in my frig, but I just couldn’t get it out of my mind.  Remember how I’m not a master baker/chef?  Well, I googled how to make your own buttermilk substitute with lemon juice and milk (both of which I have) and set to work.  Everything else about the recipe is pretty straight forward and easy to do.

The color is gorgeous, especially with a little dusting of powdered sugar.

The color is gorgeous, especially with a little dusting of powdered sugar.

The result is a cake that looks exactly like the example and utterly delicious.  The cake part is fluffy and just sweet enough to punch up the blueberries.  I should have known given how tasty the batter was when I made it up (oh yes, I do lick out my bowls).  The only thing I didn’t follow was the parchment paper bit because I didn’t have any.  My recommendation is to get some for this.  The cake didn’t completely stick to the pan since I buttered it but I might not have had to scoop out of yummy bits to fill in a hole or two.  Personally, I’d eat the yummy blueberry/buttermilk cake residue in the pan any day.

This would be wonderful at 4th of July picnics next to a cherry pie (because life is not life without cherry pie).

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Buttermilk Upside Down Cake

Leave a Reply

