Green!

This is just a little green appreciation post, which is to say that these are not new recipes so it doesn’t count in that regard but it’s worth a share.

Are they adorable in green?

Are they adorable in green?

I made some green cupcakes (how can you not?) from one of those instant mixes but switched out the veggie oil for applesauce which is my new favorite trick.  It’s a great substitute, not only because it is healthier but because veggie oil isn’t always in the cupboards but the love of applesauce means that there is always, always applesauce.  Of course, I nixed all this healthy alternative by dropping some white chocolate chips into the mix.

I'm not the best froster out there but I cover that up with little lucky charms on top

I’m not the best froster out there but I cover that up with little lucky charms on top

Top all of that off with a bit more Irish flavor, this is St. Patty’s Day after all, with some Bailey’s Buttercream frosting.  It’s basically the same recipe I used for the vanilla buttercream frosting but instead of milk, I put in 4 tablespoons of Bailey’s Irish Cream.  The result is yummy but very sweet, so beware of that… then again, this is frosting and that’s alright in my book.

See?  Aren't they adorable?

See? Aren’t they adorable?

Then, as if a green goodie isn’t enough, I made up some Irish Soda Bread.  It’s one of my favorite quick bread to make so I do whip it up often.  The twist to this: green food coloring!  Yes, I was in a green making mood.  I made the bread into little biscuits and making them green just makes them adorable.  Same taste, just a fun twist.

Add to all of that and I passed this bug onto my mother who made up some green rice, and green beans.  I half expected green eggs and ham.

Leave a Reply

