It’s a Pupton of Apples!

Usually I bring home victorian era recipes.  Not this time.  We’re going back to the 18th century for this one, and probably a little older.  I’m not really sure on the true age of this particular recipe but I do know that it is good.

Doesn't it look so lovely and bread like?

Doesn’t it look so lovely and bread like?

It’s called a ‘Pupton of Apples.’  Now, what’s a pupton?  I have no idea and I did do some searching and even the presenters at the house I worked in who have been there and are in charge, don’t really know.  It’s a mystery but I have found a great blog entry about the pupton to share and it does mention the Hannah Glass book that this one was taken from, so it’s a great resource if you’re interested.

smell up your home with some apples and cinnamon!

smell up your home with some apples and cinnamon!

Basically how it goes is this:  You chop up at least 3 cups of apples (more if you’re an apple fiend like me) and fry them up with a cup and a half of sugar and only two tablespoons of water.  Trust me, that’s all you need to make a marmalade with your goodies.  Toss in as much cinnamon as you like and viola, something you can just gobble up with a spoon if you’re so inclined.  I almost did.

Rustic and homey feeling, right?

Rustic and homey feeling, right?

Next you take about two cups of bread crumbs.  I didn’t have any ‘modern’ ones who I toasted some bread and crumbled.  Homemade bread that’s been baked a bit in the oven tastes the best but no matter how you do it, it still works.  One to two eggs; I found that doing it either didn’t change it much taste and consistency-wise.  Then there’s a 1/4 lbs butter or one stick of butter, however you want to think of it.  Mix that all together and then add in your marmalade.  It’s a thick heavy mix but if it isn’t ‘mold-able’ add in some flour to help it out.

The more apples you cut, the more you get to enjoy.

The more apples you cut, the more you get to enjoy.

But it in a bake dish at about 325-350 and bake.  Mine took about 30-40 minutes but I’m always checking it since this comes from a time when bake kettles are in fashion and you’re using coals.  What you end up with is a lovely, ‘rustic’ looking cake that tastes delicious fresh from the oven with a bit of ice cream.  If it was fall, oh man, I’d be making this weekly.

On a side note: dried apples work just as well, just remember that they soak up the water when frying them and you may have to add a bit more.  You end up with a more ‘candied’ mix than marmalade but just as tasty.

Leave a comment